Yes I said it. And I will say it again. This claim I keep reading being bandied about the blogsphere, in newspapers and other places that should know better, that women read more books written by men than books written by women is  utter bollocks. I have yet to see any proof of this really being true and yet for some reason people keep saying it.  Seriously, who started this clap trap ? I want to know. Put up your hand so I can smack you with a wet fish. And it’s everywhere. I just now read another column – which was otherwise fabulous – that also stated this apparent ”fact”.

The fact is, it’s not a fact, unless some comprehensive study has been done on the entire female reading population and no one’s told me about it. Which I grant is possible because I’m sort of hermit like and tend to stick to dark places where eating milk chocolate which has no designer affectations whatsoever is still allowed.

But really, where does this come from? Frankly most women  I know, myself included, read more books by women than they do by men – but that’s just women I know. I’m not standing up giving blanket statements that this clearly means all women read more books by women because of that. There probably are some women who read alot of books by men. And they can if they want to. Last time I checked it wasn’t illegal. But I do think that people saying all women do that is just asinine. Sure a lot more men get publicly lauded for their fiction and they get the lion share of reviews (and that is a whole different other issue) but there are also a lot of women being published and their books are selling well. And since we keep being told that women read more than men, how could it also be true that women read more books by men than women, when many books written by women are selling so well?  Whose reading these books then, aliens?  Monkeys? 

I say, lets stop pushing this stupid barrow which I shall continue to refer to as bollocks, until someone can show me actual real statistics and prove there’s any truth in it. And I mean reputable statistics of a large group of people, not some survey you’ve done of ten people down the street, or of the readership of the ‘we only review fiction by white men over 50’ publications. Yes I am that snarky. And if you can do that, I shall be impressed and think about changing my opinion. (Though I possibly won’t because I prefer to live in Egypt)

Meanwhile, I’ve got some  great books, written by women to read. Really, if you don’t believe me drop in for a cup of tea and you can count them!

