I’m deep into the first draft of my other project – my adult fantasy trilogy The Twins of Saranthium – full of despotic gods, lost men and an odyssey through the Void. So, as I often do when writing, I’m also reading books that help me get into the frame of mind I need to inhabit that ancient world. I just finished one of my favourite authors latest,

Lavinia, by Ursula Le Guin.

 

Lavinia is a mythical character from Virgil’s epic poem, The Aenid, a story of Rome’s origins. Lavinia, like Helen of Troy, started a war, but because she refused to marry the man chosen for her instead following an oracle’s telling to marry a man named Aeneas of Troy. In the poem, Lavinia exists in only a few lines, but Le Guin has taken her story and imagined it into a novel about a young woman who wouldn’t be given, wouldn’t be taken. Fabulous stuff and well worth a read.

Rosie News…..possible publication date….

Equinox is under the editor’s eye and I’m hoping to have a meeting soon to go over everything before I start work on the final draft for its publication which is in…….we’re thinking….September. Yay. Although given the nature of all things publishing this is still a preliminary date. Stay tuned for further announcements.

Twitter: I seem to be having all kinds of issue with twitter lately – a total pain as I am highly addicted to it! – but I can’t seem to use it all lately. Any one else having problems??

Music of the day: Bring on the Wonder, by Susan Enan (you might have heard the song if you watch Bones) and The New Moon Soundtrack – orchestral version. Atmospheric.

